Joyce Yang Returns

Russian Festival

Concert Details

Pianist Joyce Yang will call upon her “impressive agility, balance and velocity” (Washington Post) for Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto — originally considered too difficult to be played, this dazzling show-stopper has become a centerpiece of piano repertoire. For Prokofiev’s devilish Third Symphony, the composer borrowed material from his own opera about a woman’s dark obsession with a “fiery angel.”

Read Program Notes

Uihlein Hall Seating Chart

The MSO Steinway piano was made possible through a generous gift from Michael & Jeanne Schmitz

About this performance


Start Time

11:15a on Friday, January 24

8:00p on Saturday, January 25

2:30p on Sunday, January 26


Stefan Asbury


Joyce Yang


Russian Easter Overture, Opus 36


Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 23


Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Opus 44