National Endowment for the Arts

Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra: Artistic Samples


Sample 1
Title: (Felix) Mendelssohn - Symphony No.4 in A Major, Op. 90, "Italian" - I. Allegro vivace

  • Conducted by Ken-David Masur
  • Performed 2/14/2020
  • Sample length 3:57

  • Sample 2

    Title: Julia Perry - A Short Piece for Orchestra

    • Conducted by Joshua Weilerstein
    • Performed 1/20/2018
    • Sample length: 400


    Sample 3
    Title: (William Grant) Still – Poeme for Orchestra

    • Conducted by Teddy Abrahms
    • Performed 1/26/2019
    • Sample length 3:36


    Sample 4
    Title: Wynton Marsailis – Violin Concerto in D, 2nd Movement (Rondo Burlesque) [composed 2018]

    • Violinist Nicola Benedetti with The Philadelphia Orchestra, conducted by Wynton Marsailis
    • Wynton Marsalis: Violin Concerto; Fiddle Dance Suite, 2019 release, DECCA
    • Sample length: 4:00


    Sample 5
    Title: Jessie Montgomery – Coincident Dances [composed 2018]

    • Chicago Sinfonietta, Conducted by Mei-Ann Chen
    • Project w, 2019 release, Cedille.
    • Sample length 3:48

    Montgomery’s planned composition to be based on a stanza from T.S. Eliot’s Ode to the Nature of Time:

    At the still point of the turning world. Neither flesh nor fleshless;
    Neither from nor towards; at the still point, there the dance is,
    But neither arrest nor movement. And do not call it fixity,
    Where past and future are gathered. Neither movement from nor towards,
    Neither ascent nor decline. Except for the point, the still point,
    There would be no dance, and there is only the dance.